Onism

But I am stuck here with one vessel
Finite, in an infinite world.

The morning sky
The wet grass
They’re infinite.

In number, in presence
In space and being
They are uninhibited.

Onism*, sorrow,
A nagging feeling
I am not enough
To live and see
All the gardens, animals and trees.

I wish I had 10-20 bodies
I could’ve gone and seen much more
But I am stuck here with one vessel
Finite, in an infinite world.

 

(*Onism :the frustration of being stuck in just one body, that inhabits only one place at a time.
This poem was inspired by a YouTube video which I happened to watch the other day for I was intrigued by the title. Click here to watch it)

Picture Credits: AAKRITI HANS

Leave a Reply

