The Time I got a Tattoo on New Year

2016 was amazing. It sure had its ups and downs, good times-bad times, some really awesome times and some really awful ones. But it was great nonetheless.

I got out of my comfort zone, explored new things, and did (almost) everything I had resolved to. In fact, 2016 proved me and my belief, that the universe is toxic wrong and gave me opportunities I didn’t even know exist.

Although, it is over, I’m happy to move forward and welcome the adventures 2017 has to offer. Seeing how it has started, I do have pretty high hopes!

As the title of this post tells you! I GOT INKED! I got my FIRST TATTOO EVER!!!!

In a surprising turn of events, my mother, who is dead against tattoos, piercing, and other such body modification, said….
“You know, it’s 2017! Go get a tattoo! Do something fun! Be adventurous! Do what you’ve wanted to do!”

Now I don’t know what exactly bought about this sudden change in her attitude! But whatever it was….THANK YOU! Honestly, from the bottom of my heart…THANK YOU!

Taken aback as we were, me and my sister knew that this is once in a lifetime opportunity! Never again will we get this permission! And if we do get a tattoo without mum’s consent….it’ll have to be a hidden one.

So, we did what was supposed to be done. We cashed in this opportunity by getting ready, finding our tattoo designs, finding a trusted tattoo parlor, and going there only to find it has shut down, all in a matter of 2 hours.

One would think this would’ve weakened our spirits, but then you don’t know us. We are two of the most lazy people in this world but when it comes to craziness, we’re unstoppable!

So we get our data pack renewed, scan google for good tattoo parlours and sure enough, decide on one of them, ‘Scorpio tattoo inn’, dash to the place and begin!

I chose the word INVICTUS. Taken from a poem of the same name by William Ernest Henley (click here to read it), I have been obsessed with how simple yet powerful and profound this word (and poem) is, ever since I read it two years ago. Invictus in Latin means Undefeated and/or Unconquerable. Two things I believe I am, and always want to be.

 

So I got the word inked just as it is supposed to be….simple yet powerful. Only to later on realize that my name means the same thing (to be fair my mom pointed it out…coincidence….i don’t know, maybe).

A little secret, until the time my tattoo was complete, I literally had no realization of what….WHAT I had done. In fact, I still haven’t fully realized it. I mean I know cognitively and rationally the extent of my actions, but have I understood this yet…No I don’t think so!

Anyways, the realization is slowly dawning on me, and I am getting excited now. Excited for what is going to come. Excited for the adventures, the ups and downs, the highs and lows that 2017 has to offer.

I hope I remain Invictus. I hope I do justice to my tattoo. And I hope I manage to live every moment (whether good or bad) with acceptance, love and bliss.

To everyone reading this, I wish you and your family a Happy-Happy New Year. May we all have an exciting, adventurous and fulfilling year ahead.

K. Thanks. Byeee! πŸ’œπŸ’œ

Aprajita Rana

Leave a Reply

